Anonymous
Hi, I have been working from home since October 2022. Now, the company is asking me to come to work from the office without transport and food. Also, the office is in Bangalore, and I live in Delhi with my family. I don't want to leave my job, but I am not willing to go to Bangalore because of my financial incapabilities. The house rent and deposits are too high, plus transport and food, which I have to spend from my own pocket. The company is not giving me any money for relocation.
From India, New Delhi
Madhu.T.K

You cannot expect that throughout the service period you could work from home or from office near to you. Simply, transfer is a condition of service, and every employer has the right to transfer the employees for business exigencies. However, if the appointment order does not speak about transfer then you can take it as an industrial dispute saying that transfer will lead to change in the service conditions. But raising an industrial dispute will not make sense because that act would spoil the relationship with the employer, and may even lead to unpleasant situations in future employment. Therefore, the only way out is to negotiate on the terms and conditions of service at Bangalore, like HRA, relocation allowance etc. Transportation and food are anyway expenses that you should bear even if you are asked to work from Delhi office. Therefore, you may not get it compensated but it is genuine to get an additional amount or compensatory allowance to meet house rent at Bangalore. Similarly, you can ask for relocation allowance which will be a one time payment for transportation of your personal belongings from Delhi to Bangalore plus travel fare for yourself and your family. Normally these will be there in the transfer policy of the company. In the absence of all the above, it is advisable to leave the company and join another company.
From India, Kannur
narendra3152
Hi,